Neun Phra (Neun Yai Hom)
Map Have Map No Map
Nakhon Pathom attractions
Attractions in Thailand
Operating day: Sunday - Saturday
Operating time: 09.00 - 17.00
In 1936, Phra Dhamma Vathi Kanachan (Luang Pho Ngeun), the abbot of Wat Don Yai Hom, dug up broken bricks from the base of the hill to build a church.
Digging down further, he found two square green laterite pillars both about 4 metres high with a unique carving at the crown of the pillars that resembled pillar doors of the Sanchi Chedi of King Asoka Maharaj, and a laterite statue of a crouching deer, another Dvaravati period Buddha image, and a broken stone Sema Dhamma Chakra (Buddhist Wheel of Virtue used signify temple boundaries).
The laterite stone pillars had a gap at the top for placing the Sema Dhama Chakra. This is the same style as those found at Phra Pathom Chedi, Wat Phra Ngam, Wat Phra Padhone, and Sanam Chan Palace.
Presently, the pillars are at Wat Don Yai Hom, the laterite crouching deer and the Buddha images are on exhibit at the Bangkok National Museum.
These discoveries confirm that this area was once an ancient temple and that the hill must have been a large Chedi that was in the temple compound dating back to the Dvaravati period, or earlier, roughly about 1,000 years ago. It is a revered and important historical site.
Neun Phra (Neun Yai Hom) Map
Category: ●Art, Culture and Heritage
Group: ●Historical Sites and Monuments
Tag: ●Neun Phra (Neun Yai Hom)●Neun Phra ●Neun Yai Hom
Last Update: 3 YearAgo